Spoilers and Latest News for Marvel and DC Fans and TRY to publish a lot of theories, spoilers, and leaks about the movies and stay tuned for Short Gaming news too.

Full width home advertisement

Post Page Advertisement [Top]

PlayStation 4 users are being warned to set their messages to private due to an exploit making the rounds.

PS4 users are warning others that a private message being sent contains characters that when viewed will force players to factory reset their consoles.

And it’s not the opening of the message that does it, just receiving the notification can be enough to force a reset “depending on how much of the message it parses.”

According to various reddit users, even deleting the message from the mobile app doesn’t work. Once user had it happen while playing Rainbow Six: Siege.

“A player from the other team used a dummy account to send the message and crashed my entire team,” said reddit user Huntstark. “We all have had to factory reset. Only one of our guys wasn’t affected and he has his messages private.”

According to user BorgDrone, basically, someone can ‘brick’ another’s PS4 just by using “a message designed to exploit a mistake in the code.”

He goes on to explain how this works in technical terms on the reddit thread.

Sony hasn’t issued a warning for this as of press time, but just to be safe – SET YOUR MESSAGES TO PRIVATE on your PS4 for now just to be safe.

The post PS4 users warned to set messages to private after receiving message that brick their consoles appeared first on VG247.



No comments:

Post a Comment

Bottom Ad [Post Page]

| Designed by Colorlib Local Business Directory, Search Engine Submission & SEO Tools